Public Programs And Events

2015 The Story Prize Reading and Awards Ceremony

2015 The Story Prize Reading and Awards Ceremony

The Auditorium, Room A106, Alvin Johnson/J.M. Kaplan Hall
General Public 

The three finalists for The Story Prize, chosen from more than 70 short story collections published in 2015, will read from and discuss their work with Larry Dark, the director of the award.

This year's finalists are:

There's Something I Want You to Do by Charles Baxter (Pantheon)

Fortune Smiles by Adam Johnson (Random House)

Thirteen Ways of Looking by Colum McCann (Random House)

Charles Baxter is a winner of the Rea Award for the Short Story. There's Something I Want You to Do, features two stories that were selected for volumes of The Best American Short Stories. His five previous collections are Gryphon, Believers, A Relative StrangerThrough the Safety Net, and Harmony of the World. He has also published the novels The Feast of Love (a finalist for the National Book Award), The Soul ThiefSaul and PatsyShadow Play, and First Light. He lives in Minneapolis and teaches at the University of Minnesota and in the MFA Program for Writers at Warren Wilson College.

Adam Johnson is the author of the story collection Fortune Smiles, winner of the National Book Award for Fiction, and The Orphan Master's Son, winner of the Pulitzer Prize in fiction, the Dayton Literary Peace Prize, and the California Book Award, and a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. Johnson's other awards include a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Whiting Writers' Award, a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, and a Stegner Fellowship. His previous books are Emporium, a short story collection, and the novel Parasites Like Us. Johnson teaches creative writing at Stanford University and lives in San Francisco with his wife and children.

Colum McCann is the author of Thirteen Ways of Looking and two other short story collections, Fishing the Sloe-Black River and Everything in This Country Must, as well as the novels TransAtlanticLet the Great World SpinZoliDancerThis Side of Brightness, and Songdogs. His literary honors include the National Book Award, the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, a Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres award from the French government, and the Ireland Fund of Monaco Literary Award in Memory of Princess Grace. A contributor to The New YorkerThe New York Times MagazineThe Atlantic, and The Paris Review, he teaches in the Hunter College MFA Creative Writing program. He lives in New York City with his wife and their three children.

About the Judges

Anthony Doerr, the author of the Pulitzer Prize winning novel All the Light We Cannot See, as well as two story collections Memory Wall (2010 winner of The Story Prize) andThe Shell Collector, the novel About Grace, and the memoir Four Seasons in Rome. He lives in Boise, Idaho, with his wife and two sons.

Rita Meade is a public library manager who lives and works in Brooklyn, New York. She is a Contributing Editor and Dear Book Nerd podcast host for Book Riot, reviews children's books for School Library Journal, and is the author of a forthcoming picture book Edward Gets Messy.

Kathryn Schulz is a staff writer at The New Yorker. She is the former book critic for New York Magazine and the author of Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error. She was the 2012 recipient of the National Book Critic Circle's Nona Balakian Prize and a 2004 recipient of the Pew Fellowship in International Journalism.

The event will culminate with the announcement of the winner, who will be presented with a check for $20,000 and an engraved silver bowl.

Co-sponsored by The Story Prize and The Creative Writing Program. 

Submit your application


To apply to any of our Bachelor's programs (Except the Bachelor's Program for Adult Transfer Students) complete and submit the Common App online.

Graduates and Adult Learners

To apply to any of our Master's, Doctural, Professional Studies Diploma, Graduates Certificate, or Associate's programs, or to apply to the Bachelor's Program for Adult and Transfer Students, complete and submit the New School Online Application.