Top

Public Engagement

Students Faculty Staff

Craft-Lesson Lunch Series

Tuesday, December 4, 2018 at 12:30 pm to 1:30 pm

Klein Conference Room, Room A510, Alvin Johnson/J.M. Kaplan Hall Room 510, 66 West 12th Street, New York, NY 10011

Throughout the Fall, Lang’s First-Year Writing Program is hosting a series of weekly lunches where faculty will present dynamic and interactive lessons in the craft of writing.

These lunches will be held on Tuesday afternoons, 12:30-1:30, and are open to any interested students and faculty. Food will be provided. Lunches will be held in room 510, 66 West 12th Street.

Schedule:

Tues., Sept. 11, Scott Korb, with a lesson on “Words”

Tues., Sept. 18, Megan Milks, with a lesson on “Sentences”

Tues., Sept. 25, Grace Paley Teaching Fellow Shobha Rao, with a lesson on “Paragraphs”

Tues., Oct. 2, A.W. Strouse, with a lesson on “Leads and Endings”

Tues., Oct. 9, Jonathan Liebson, with a lesson on “Formulas that Work”

Fri., Oct. 19, Kristi Steinmetz, with a lesson on “Reading as a Writer” (***NOTE: This week’s craft lunch takes place on FRIDAY, OCT. 19, not Tuesday.)

Tues., Oct. 23, Lucas Corcoran, with a lesson on “Show and Tell”

Tues., Oct. 30, Shobha Rao, with a lesson on “The Audience”

Tues., Nov. 6, Jessica Gross, with a lesson on “Clutter and Clarity”

Tues., Nov. 13, Miller Oberman, with a lesson on “Making Mistakes”

Tues., Nov. 20, Joshunda Sanders, with a talk on “Feedback”

Tues., Nov. 27, Shobha Rao, with a talk on “Figurative Language”

Tues., Dec. 4, Rachel Aydt, with a talk on “Writing as a Reader”

These weekly lunches will run like an interactive seminar, bringing writing students and faculty together for both in-depth discussions of writing fundamentals and the more advanced lessons in what it takes to write convincing and arresting work. For a more detailed schedule of the Craft-Lesson Lunch series, click here.

Write Scott Korb, Director of First-Year Writing, with any questions: korbs@newschool.edu.

Presented by First Year Writing and Eugene Lang College.

Recent Activity

Getting Here

Detailed Directions

By Train:
The 4, 5, 6, N, R, Q and L to 14th St./Union Square.
The A, C and E to 14th St. and 8th Ave.
The 1, 2 and 3 to 14th St. and 7th Ave.
The F and M to 14th St. and 6th Ave.
PATH train to 14th St. and 6th Ave.

×