Public Programs And Events

2014 Story Prize Awards Ceremony

2014 Story Prize Awards Ceremony

The Auditorium, Room A106, Alvin Johnson/J.M. Kaplan Hall
General Public 

The three finalists for The Story Prize, chosen from more than 70 short story collections published in 2014, will read from and discuss their work with Larry Dark, the director of the award, and Story Prize founder Julie Lindsey

This year's finalists are:

The Other Language by Francesca Marciano (Pantheon)
Thunderstruck by Elizabeth McCracken (The Dial Press)
Bark by Lorrie Moore (Alfred A. Knopf)

Francesca Marciano is the author of the short story collection The Other Language and the novels Rules of the Wild, Casa Rossa, and The End of Manners—all written in English. She has also written and collaborated on several screenplays in her native Italian. She lives in Rome.

Elizabeth McCracken is the author of Thunderstruck, An Exact Replica of a Figment of My Imagination, The Giant's House, Here's Your Hat What's Your Hurry, and Niagara Falls All Over Again. A former public librarian, she is now a faculty member at the University of Texas, Austin, and has received grants and awards from numerous organizations, including the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Guggenheim Foundation, the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, and the American Academy in Berlin.

Lorrie Moore, after many years as a professor of creative writing at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, is now Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor of English at Vanderbilt University. Among the honors Moore has received for her work are the Irish Times International Prize for Literature, a Lannan Foundation fellowship, as well as the PEN/Malamud Award and the Rea Award for her achievement in the short story. Her most recent novel, A Gate at the Stairs, was shortlisted for the 2010 Orange Prize for Fiction and for the PEN/Faulkner Award. Bark is her fourth short story collection.

The judges for this year's awards are Arsen Kashkashian, bookseller at the Boulder Book Store in Colorado; Noreen Tomassi, Executive Director of The Center for Fiction in New York; and award-winning author Laura van den Berg

The event will culminate with the announcement of the winner, who will be presented with a check for $20,000 and an engraved silver bowl. 

Sponsored by The Story Prize and the MFA Creative Writing Program

Submit your application


To apply to any of our Bachelor's programs (Except the Bachelor's Program for Adult Transfer Students) complete and submit the Common App online.

Graduates and Adult Learners

To apply to any of our Master's, Doctural, Professional Studies Diploma, Graduates Certificate, or Associate's programs, or to apply to the Bachelor's Program for Adult and Transfer Students, complete and submit the New School Online Application.