Top

Public Engagement

Students Faculty Staff

Craft-Lesson Lunches

Tuesday, September 12, 2017 at 12:30 pm to 1:30 pm

66 West 12th Street, 510 66 West 12th Street, room 510

This semester, Lang’s First-Year Writing Program is hosting a series of Craft-Lesson Lunches where faculty will present dynamic and inspiring lessons in the craft of writing. These weekly lunches will run like an interactive seminar, bringing writing students and faculty together for both in-depth discussions of writing fundamentals and the more advanced lessons in what it takes to write convincing and arresting work. 

The event is open to any interested students (and faculty). Food will be provided. 

Tuesday, Sept. 12, Scott Korb on The Parts of Speech

Monday, Sept. 18, Megan Milks on The Sentence (NOTE: This lunch is on a Monday, 12:30-1:30, and will be held in room 205, the Hirshon Suite, of Arnold Hall, 55 West 13th Street.)

Tuesday, Sept. 26, Diana Goetsch on The Paragraph

Tuesday, Oct. 3, Rollo Romig on Common Grammar Errors

Tuesday, Oct. 10, Tara FitzGerald on Sharing Our Work

Tuesday, Oct. 17, Megan Healey (Parsons) on Punctuation

Tuesday, Oct. 24, Kristi Steinmetz on Common Usage Errors (NOTE: This lunch runs from 2-3pm.)

Tuesday, Oct. 31, Diana Goetsch on Introductions

Tuesday, Nov. 7,  Jen Hyde on Conclusions

Tuesday, Nov. 14, Marina Blitshteyn (Parsons) on Reading as a Writer

Tuesday, Nov. 21, Lucas Corcoran on The Aphorism

Tuesday, Nov. 28, Diana Goetsch on Figurative Language

Tuesday, Dec. 5, Miller Oberman on Voice

For a more detailed schedule of the Craft-Lesson Lunch series, click hereWrite Scott Korb, Director of First-Year Writing, with any questions: korbs@newschool.edu.

Presented by First Year Writing and Eugene Lang College.

Recent Activity

Getting Here

×